Skip to main content

General Usage

Keyboard Shortcuts#

Edit#

ResultWindows/LinuxMac
UndoCtrl + ZโŒ˜ + Z
RedoCtrl + YโŒ˜ + Y
CutCtrl + XโŒ˜ + X
CopyCtrl + CโŒ˜ + C
PasteCtrl + VโŒ˜ + V
Paste and Match Style*Ctrl + Shift + VโŒ˜ + Shift + V
Select AllCtrl + AโŒ˜ + A
Jump to the beginning of the noteCtrl + HomeโŒ˜ + Home or โŒ˜ + Up
Jump to the end of the noteCtrl + EndโŒ˜ + End or โŒ˜ + Down

*Paste and Match Style only works with Rich Text Editors such as the Bold and Plus editors

View#

ResultWindows/LinuxMac
ReloadCtrl + RโŒ˜ + R
Toggle Developer ToolsCtrl + Shift + IโŒ˜ + Shift + I
Actual SizeCtrl + 0โŒ˜ + 0
Zoom InCtrl + Shift + + (plus)โŒ˜ + Shift + + (plus)
Zoom OutCtrl + - (minus)โŒ˜ + - (minus)
Toggle Full ScreenF11F11
Hide Menu Bar*Alt + MAlt + M

*The Hide Menu Bar shortcut is available only when not using the Themed Menu Bar (window decoration). To toggle the Themed Menu Bar on Windows and Linux, visit โ˜ฐ > View > Themed Menu Bar.

Window#

ResultWindows/LinuxMac
MinimizeCtrl + MโŒ˜ + M
CloseCtrl + WโŒ˜ + W

Reserved#

These keyboard shortcuts have not been implemented but are reserved for future use. Developers who are interested in implementing keyboard shortcuts for their extensions should avoid using these shortcuts.

  • Ctrl/โŒ˜ + T
  • Ctrl/โŒ˜ + Shift + F
  • Ctrl/โŒ˜ + Shift + L

Note Options#

What does it mean to lock or protect a note?

Here is a list of available options on a note and what they represent:

OptionDescription
PinPinning a note will anchor it to the top of your list of notes, sorted according to the global sort order (specified in your Options).
ArchiveArchiving a note will stash your note and hide it from your usual interface. Archived notes can be found by choosing the reserved Archived view in the tags panel. Archiving a note does not affect or improve performance, as the note is still saved and loaded, but not displayed in the list of all notes or within a particular tag. Archiving is useful for notes that no longer contain actionable data, but want to be preserved for historical purposes. For example, if a note contains a list of todos, and you've completed all the todos, archiving the note would make sense.
LockLocking a note will put it read-only mode, which means it can't be edited or deleted until you unlock it. This is to prevent accidental modification of sensitive notes, like passwords or credentials that aren't likely to change often.
ProtectProtecting a note marks the note as sensitive, and makes it so that additional authentication is required to view the note. The form of authentication used depends on your configuration. You will be asked to authenticate with your passcode or biometrics (mobile) if you have that configured. If you do not have a passcode or biometrics configured, you will be asked to authenticate with your account password. If neither of those are configured and there is no protection source available, the protected action will proceed without authentication. In addition, protecting a note will automatically hide its preview in your list of notes.
PreviewOn web and desktop, selecting the Preview option will toggle whether to hide or show the note preview in the list of notes. You can hide previews for a particular note if you'd like to conserve vertical space in your list of notes, or to hide sensitive data. However, we recommend Protecting a note if you'd like to hide sensitive information.
Move to TrashMoving a note to the trash will mark the note as deleted, and remove it from your interface. However, your note will still exist in your Trash, which you can access from your list of Views. From the trash, you can restore the note, or choose to delete it permanently. You can also empty the entirety of your trash by choosing Options โ†’ Empty Trash from the note editor panel.
Last updated on